Science Department (Key Stage 3)

The Science Department is the largest secondary department at QIS and currently consists of 14 full-time teachers, one part-time teacher, who is also the school’s SENDCO, and three lab technicians. There are three deputy heads of department each responsible for the three disciplines of Science at Key Stage 4 and Key Stage 5. There are 13 laboratories, a newly built ICT room, a breakout area for Year 13 students as well as two prep rooms. Each full-time science teacher has their own well resourced laboratory with access to an array of additional resources to deliver practical lessons. 

The Science Department aims to encourage pupils to learn how knowledge and understanding in science are rooted in evidence whilst discovering how scientific ideas contribute to aspects of science worldwide. This is achieved through  offering learners opportunities to develop and evaluate explanations, role modelling the learning process, challenging expectations whilst instilling an ethos of lifelong love of discovery. We aim to provide learners with the necessary skills to achieve their full academic potential at IGCSE and A level. Pupils trace the development of science and recognise its cultural significance and applications, contributing towards their awareness of being a valued global citizen.

The Science team are passionate about their specialist subjects and this enthusiasm comes  through in all aspects of their teaching and learning.  They incorporate a variety of learning opportunities providing a platform which ensures that pupils of all abilities can access the curriculum.  

Key Stage 3

Year 7 and 8 will start with a two-week Science skills Induction. Year 7 and 8 follow a condensed Key Stage 3 curriculum for five periods a week. This curriculum is based on the national curriculum for England and Wales with some modifications to maintain relevance for our students.

  • The aim is for a holistic approach to science in Years 7 and 8 where each class has one teacher, though this is subject to timetable constraints.
  • Each year group has classes put into ability. Please note that some students will have the opportunity to move sets once we collate data to help inform this. Each class has five single lessons per week and in most cases at least one double lesson. 
  • There are 12 topics in each year: four Biology, four Chemistry and four Physics. Each topic follows the guidelines as set out in the QCA.

In Year 9, students enter what we call our transition year, which is designed to prepare them for IGCSEs. In 2020, we will be moved to Edexcel IGCSE meaning the course this year has been designed to facilitate this. Students receive two Biology, two Chemistry and two Physics lessons each week, for each Science there are four topics taught throughout the year.

Mrs G. Hendriks, Head of Department 

Science Teachers

  • Mr Matthew Baker (MBK): Deputy Head of Science (Physics), F21
  • Mr Anthony Doran (ADO): Deputy Head of Science (Chemistry), F03/F04
  • Ms Cora Farrell (CFA): Deputy Head of Science (Biology), F20
  • Dr Victoria Taylor (VTA): Whole-School SENDCo, Primary Y3/4 block – room 16
  • Mr Philip Morton (PMO): E-Learning, SIMS & Timetable, FIT F13
  • Mr Craig Brouder (CBR): International Award Coordinator and Year 11 Tutor, F19
  • Ms Dimple Patel (DPA): Head of Progress for Years 12 & 13 and Careers, G Block office & F08
  • Ms Emily Rachel De Aguiar (EAG): Year 10 Tutor, F10
  • Ms Sharmim Akther (SAT): Year 10 Tutor, F11
  • Mr Nathan Cooke (NAC): Year 8 Tutor F16/F17
  • Ms Sian Beardsell (SBE): Year 8 Tutor F23
  • Mr Johann Foo (FOO): Year 12 Tutor, NQT, F15
  • Ms Danielle Whittaker (DWH): Year 8 Tutor, NQT, F22
  • Ms Farzana Choudhury (FCH): Year 11 Tutor, F14