Curriculum Overview

QIS follows the UK educational system, broadly adhering to the English National Curriculum.
Key Stage 3 (Years 7 to 9)

During the first three years in the Secondary School, all students follow a broad-based balanced curriculum. The following subjects are studied in Year 7/8/9:

Mathematics, French, Physical Education, English, Arabic, Science, Information Technology, Art, Design & Technology, Geography, History, Qatar History & Islamic Studies. During Year 9, pupils select the subjects they wish to pursue through to IGCSE. Mathematics pupils start studying IGCSE in Year 9, with the top set following an accelerated course which allows them to complete the IGCSE Mathematics course early.  They also have the opportunity to study IGCSE Further Pure Mathematics.

Key Stage 4 (Years 10 to 11)

The two-year course leads towards an IGCSE in each subject studied. The International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) is an internationally recognised qualification, which is administered by both Cambridge Assessment International Examinations (CAIE) and Pearson EDEXCEL examination boards. The IGCSE is specifically designed to cater for international students.  We also offer BTEC qualifications as of September 2019 which are administered by Pearson EDEXCEL.

The following subjects are studied in Year 10/11: 

Art, Arabic 1st Language, Biology, Business Studies, BTEC Level 2 Business, Chemistry, Commerce (Y10), Computer Science, Design and Technology (Graphic Design or Resistant Materials), Economics, Environmental Management, English 1st Language, English Literature, French, Geography, History, Information and Communication Technology, BTEC Information and Communication Technology, Islamic Studies, Mathematics, Double Award Science (Y10), BTEC Level 2 Science (Y11), Physical Education, and Physics.

In addition to these subjects; English as a Second Language and Arabic as a Foreign Language are available to all students as an optional IGCSE; English Literature and Further Pure Mathematics are available to accelerated Mathematics students.

Key Stage 5 (Years 12 to 13)

Throughout Year 12, students study between 2 and 5 subjects leading to Advanced Subsidiary (AS) and International Advanced Subsidiary (IAS) qualifications. We also attempt, within the constraints of the timetable, to cater for those Year 12 students who also wish to re-sit one or two of their IGCSEs. The AS/IAS exams are administered by CAIE, Pearson EDEXCEL and the Assessment and Qualifications Alliance (AQA).  All are accepted as entry qualifications to universities in most countries. They are also accepted as qualifications to attend foundation courses in most universities.  Free time in the student timetable is allocated to private study sessions, where students are supervised and required to study independently.

The following subjects are offered at Advanced Subsidiary (AS) or International Advanced Subsidiary (IAS): 

Arabic, Art, Biology, Business Studies, Chemistry, Computer Science, Design and Technology, Economics, English Language, English Literature, French, General Paper, Geography, Global Perspectives, History, Information Technology, BTEC Level 3 IT, Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Physics and Psychology.

Year 12 students can continue their Advanced Subsidiary subjects into Advanced Level in Year 13, subject to achieving a passing grade.